Forever young.

"Speak now or forever hold your peace in pieces."

What defines natural beauty?

“Wearing makeup makes you fake because you hide your identity!”

“Ew I don’t like her. She’s so fake. She wears a lot of makeup!”
“I don’t understand why girls have to put all that shit on their face.”

Naturally, as a girl, I’ve always enjoyed experimenting on different kinds of makeup and makeup techniques. Yes, I’m not ashamed to admit it. I love wearing makeup! I’ve had many people tell me things like “Wearing makeup is fake” or “I only like girls with natural beauty” and things like that. Girls who are born naturally beautiful, I admire you. But for the male population out there, please get this into your head: NOT EVERYONE IS BORN GOODLOOKING.

It infuriates me how guys tell me that they want a girl who has natural beauty, but the moment they see a “less goodlooking” girl, they make fun of her. Basically, this is their definition of natural beauty:

  • Silky hair
  • Flawless skin
  • Not too fat, not too skinny, but has curves
  • Beautiful eyes
  • Sexy lips
  • Has a full bosom
  • A rounded butt
  • It’s pretty upsetting to know that guys who want girls who are “natural” actually mean they want girls who are naturally gorgeous. They think wanting a girl who does not wear makeup makes them not superficial, when in contrary, it means they want a girl who is beautiful without makeup and that in fact does make them superficial.

    20130512-002942.jpgAbove, is a picture of myself before and after applying makeup, and the picture on the left is not even half as bad as how I usually look at home. Mind you, my hair is extremely wavy, one of my eyebrows is crooked due to an old injury, and I actually wear spectacles. It’s starting to sicken me how some people have the misconception that makeup makes someone fake. I don’t wear it to impress anyone, (not especially since I have a loving boyfriend who accepts me at my best and at my worst) but rather to feel good about myself. My natural self honestly looks like a wreck. Well, to me at least. It doesn’t hurt a girl to go out feeling confident about herself.

    Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I don’t like the way I am naturally. I do go out in my neighbourhood and take pictures without my makeup on and I don’t care what people have to comment about me. It’s just sometimes, I feel like going the extra mile to make myself look better. It’s not for anyone but myself. If I know I can make myself look better, I would. (though I would never go under the knife!) And also, please do not get the impression that I think I am oh so gorgeous when I already have my makeup on. I don’t. I have no intention in trying to look perfect. All I know is that, personally, to me, I look better with my makeup on and that gives me the extra confidence boost to go out and have fun with my family and friends.

    Everyone is beautiful in their own unique way, and just because you don’t cater to someone’s taste, it doesn’t make you any less beautiful. What’s the point in wanting to be absolutely gorgeous just to have people like you when they will only fall for your looks and not you? I’ve said this a lot of times to my friends, but if someone fell for me for the sole reason that they think I am pretty, I would actually be pissed off. I am more than just a face. I am a complexed human being. One day, you will find someone who will look through the exterior and love your heart and soul 100%. The time may not be now, but trust me, there is someone for everyone. The only thing we need to do is be patient.

    So here’s to the shallow-minded people out there:

    A girl wearing makeup doesn’t make her more fake than the bare-faced girl next to her. You claim to look for “natural beauty” but I apologize, not every girl was born beautiful on the outside. You think you’re not superficial, but your quest for a naturally gorgeous girl proves otherwise. Get real and please realize that you’re not making girls feel better about themselves when you tell them you want someone “natural”. In fact, it makes many girls feel bad about themselves.

    So what defines natural beauty?

    In my honest opinion, it’s in the way a girl carries herself. How comfortable she is in her own skin, with or without makeup. So girls, don’t be pressured when people demand for “natural beauty” and call you “fake” for wearing makeup. Just flick them off and simply smile and say “Even naturally good looking girls won’t fall for superficial jerks like you.” Embrace yourself, for true beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, not what she wears.

    One thing for sure, my boyfriend does not love me because I’m beautiful, because I know for sure that there are way prettier girls out there. However, I dare say that I feel beautiful because he loves me.

    10 comments on “What defines natural beauty?

    1. Kay
      November 3, 2013

      I love this post so much! So much truth in it.

    2. Anonymous
      February 2, 2014

      I think you’re beautiful either way!! I like for my girl to wear make up and doll up for us to go out in public. But when it’s just me and her, I like to see her eyes and everything as it is. Feels intimate

    3. Arianna
      March 13, 2014

      You’re very beautiful without makeup also.

    4. Fundi
      April 8, 2014

      I think you look so beautiful without make up

    5. theapplestar
      September 6, 2014

      Although this is an old post, I really appreciate it (came across via google) and I can identify with it so well! So glad I’m not the only one who feels this way🙂 don’t worry, you don’t look much different with and w/o makeup! Both are beautiful!

    6. Sarah
      July 2, 2015

      Very well written! I wish more people could understand this! I once had a girl at work ask me why I bother putting
      Makeup on in the morning, meanwhile she has glitter all over her eyelids( I work in a factory ). I like feeling good and if I want to enhance what features I may or may not have, then so be it:)

    7. Ajay ku behera
      February 8, 2016

      Thanks for compliment realy i appriciat you

    8. finablog101
      March 2, 2016

      Loved this!!!! My most recent blog is in the same category! Great blog!

    9. Jennifer
      April 5, 2016

      But you are the epitome of natural beauty without your make up on.

    10. D
      August 29, 2016

      I turthfully think you look better without Makeup.

    Leave a Reply

        Information

    This entry was posted on May 11, 2013 by in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , .
